Geoff Geis

Icon

Juiceboxxx

Screen Shot 2014-03-26 at 1.56.08 PM

This is serious.

Juiceboxxx is one of my favorite rappers and showmen. His performances are awesome, and he’s just as insane as his persona. Well, it’s not a persona actually. He lived with me for a few months, so I can tell you that it’s certainly no act.

The characters in his songs aren’t characters, and he doesn’t turn it down when he’s not onstage. He’s truly an American treasure.

Anyway, my boy had a bit of a viral moment last month after this performance on a local TV show in Milwaukee:

There are a lot of haters in the comments for that video, but they’re all complete idiots. This article gives you an objective explanation of why, but I think it has more to do with those haters’ joylessness and severe lack of imagination when it comes to what they think music ought to be. Perhaps, instead of commenting on Youtube videos, they should occupy themselves with something constructive.

Sure, it wasn’t his finest moment. In case you’re wondering, that moment was this:

Anyway, during my brief time living with the guy under my roof, we created a couple of collaborations. I shared the first one of them, a remix of a song by clipping., on this blog last year.

What I didn’t post – because you know, I like to let things get really old before I mention them, so that I can I have the least potent promotional impact – was this track. Called “The Saga Never Ends,” it’s a JB Mixtape jam that includes some really messy guitar work by me.

The video stars Valerie, a very nice dog.

Filed under: geoff geis, vanity projects, , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

Music

This is Soft Sailors! We're a new band from Los Angeles. We don't have any upcoming shows scheduled, but you can hear us online:

Also, here are some solo songs I've uploaded recently to Soundcloud. I'm playing solo July 19th at the Pickle Factory at 647 Lamar Street in Los Angeles and September 1st at Los Globos in LA for a KCHUNG benefit.

In 2011, I released my first solo album, Princess. You can listen to it and download it on Bandcamp:

From 2005 until 2011, I was in the band Pizza! This is our album We Come From the Swamp:

From 2008-2010, I was in the band Big Whup. Here's one of our songs that I sang, called "Cover My Eyes:"

