Geoff Geis

Icon

More things I’ve liked on Soundcloud

I’ve been listening to jams Soundcloud again. Here are more items I’ve “liked” lately:

I’m not sure how or why I slept on Kid Static’s album Hypnotized, especially since its 2010 release date means that it coincided with his time in Los Angeles. Today he posted it on Soundcloud and it sounded so fresh that I thought it was new.

This one, called “When My Soul Goes Down,” is my favorite track from the record. There’s a lot of up, even happy-sounding, stuff on the record, but this appeals to me because it’s dark and vulnerable. And it sounds huge.

Daniel Trudeau, who releases music under the name Pregnant, is currently soliciting money. If you give him $5 or more, he’ll make you a song and give you a specialized patch symbolizing a specific energy. This is a pretty cool idea, and perhaps you should jump on it before demand becomes huge and he has to mark it up to $10 or even $15.

Anyway, Daniel has been posting his songs and I’ve been hearing them and this is one of them, written apparently for a person named Britanny (or perhaps the region of in Northern France pooled its funds and bought one for the community).

I checked out this dude Naweed Delpiano because he’d commented on one of my tracks. According to his profile, he lives in France but once lived in Afghanistan. Both places appear to have influenced his instrumentals, which appear to be heavily-if-not-entirely MIDI produced.

I like how he takes a free-wheeling approach to composition, meaning that all of his tracks seem to start in one place and go to several others before settling down somewhere completely different. Some of it’s kind of bombastic, too, as Naweed isn’t afraid of using his interesting and complex melodic sense on wild, elongated guitar and MIDI sax solos.

It’s good to have the best part of Metallica distilled into something like this, although it makes me hungry for a sequel featuring other Hetfield classics like “the grunt.”

Filed under: mp3, , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

Music

This is Soft Sailors! We're a new band from Los Angeles. We don't have any upcoming shows scheduled, but you can hear us online:

Also, here are some solo songs I've uploaded recently to Soundcloud. I'm playing solo July 19th at the Pickle Factory at 647 Lamar Street in Los Angeles and September 1st at Los Globos in LA for a KCHUNG benefit.

In 2011, I released my first solo album, Princess. You can listen to it and download it on Bandcamp:

From 2005 until 2011, I was in the band Pizza! This is our album We Come From the Swamp:

From 2008-2010, I was in the band Big Whup. Here's one of our songs that I sang, called "Cover My Eyes:"

