Geoff Geis

Icon

Things I’ve liked on Soundcloud

I’ve really been enjoying Soundcloud recently. At first, I was just using it to try and promote my own music. Lately, I’ve been starting to actively “follow” people and listen to what’s going on in the world at large. Some of it is so good that it embarrasses me.

Here are some jams I’ve “liked” of late:

Around the time that Pizza! dissolved, Duncan jumped into graduate school at USC. He composed a lot of really nice, haunting and creative film music, much of which can be found on his Soundcloud. This is his final project, which he got to record at Warner Bros. Studios. In a comment, user HeadPhoneMash said, “Calling this music, Is a lie for your brain. This is not music. This is Magic!”

I know this guy’s brother but I don’t think I know him. Anyway, this gets me pumped.

I found this band when I was looking through my own stats and noticed that their account had been playing a lot of my songs. I’m not sure if this is weird music or just Japanese music, but it’s got a particular charm. The vocal abandon is intoxicating and if I could understand the words I’m sure this would become a classic car sing-along for me.

I kind of liked Cornershop back in the Nineties. I remember buying their CD back in the day when buying lots of CDs was the thing to do, but I don’t recall being impressed with it on the whole and I’m pretty sure I sold it to the store. Either my taste has expanded, or they’ve gotten better. Perhaps Kula Shaker will release a great new song soon too?

Tyler is an extraordinary producer. This might not be his best track, but it’s really gritty and it’s good for me when I want to strut around and pretend I’m tough. Also, he does vocal “pop pops” in the breaks and I just really like that personal touch.

 

Filed under: mp3, , , , ,

Leave a Reply

Music

This is Soft Sailors! We're a new band from Los Angeles. We don't have any upcoming shows scheduled, but you can hear us online:

Also, here are some solo songs I've uploaded recently to Soundcloud. I'm playing solo July 19th at the Pickle Factory at 647 Lamar Street in Los Angeles and September 1st at Los Globos in LA for a KCHUNG benefit.

In 2011, I released my first solo album, Princess. You can listen to it and download it on Bandcamp:

From 2005 until 2011, I was in the band Pizza! This is our album We Come From the Swamp:

From 2008-2010, I was in the band Big Whup. Here's one of our songs that I sang, called "Cover My Eyes:"

