Geoff Geis

Icon

Maudlin guitar wankery: learning how to use an E-bow on “Lost Pedals Lament”

Download free mp3: “Lost Pedals Lament” by Geoff Geis

Saturday’s show was excellent, by all measures. Thanks to heroic promotional efforts by us along with some very good friends (such as Sean Carnage, LA Record, KXLU, PAUS LA, Summer Fun Time Society, etc), Big Whup packed the Smell despite competition by heavyweights like Avi Buffalo and No Age. The Seven-inches already looked beautiful, but they were even better in the hands of friends who purchased them! To top off all of the great stuff with Big Whup, Pizza! played a frenetic show at the end that reminded me of earlier, punkier days and left me elated and buzzing with adrenaline.

Ah, but nothing ever goes off without a hitch, does it?

While packing my car with stuff for the show, I left my guitar pedals in my driveway. I had a lot of stuff to load, and I just got absent-minded. When I realized my mistake and returned home, the pedals were missing… Since they were labeled with my email address and phone number and I’ve not been contacted, I can only assume that whoever took them did so maliciously. It blows pretty hard: I lost about a thousand dollars worth of equipment, and much of what I lost came in the form of gifts. I lost some crucial aspects of the guitar tone I was developing, and I also lost the ability to play wirelessly (an ability I’ve treasured).

Yesterday, I recorded this lament using what equipment I have left: a Boss PH3, and an E-bow that I borrowed from Drew a while ago but never really tried. I recorded the track using a combination of a TASCAM cassette 4-track and Garageband (the guitar tracks were delayed using the “Telephone Line” setting of that program).

Any electric guitar player reading this can probably guess exactly how it sounds based on my description from the last paragraph. If you’re not a guitar player: well, here’s what it sounds like when someone is learning how to use an E-bow!

Download free mp3: “Lost Pedals Lament” by Geoff Geis

Filed under: mp3

Leave a Reply

Music

This is Soft Sailors! We're a new band from Los Angeles. We don't have any upcoming shows scheduled, but you can hear us online:

Also, here are some solo songs I've uploaded recently to Soundcloud. I'm playing solo July 19th at the Pickle Factory at 647 Lamar Street in Los Angeles and September 1st at Los Globos in LA for a KCHUNG benefit.

In 2011, I released my first solo album, Princess. You can listen to it and download it on Bandcamp:

From 2005 until 2011, I was in the band Pizza! This is our album We Come From the Swamp:

From 2008-2010, I was in the band Big Whup. Here's one of our songs that I sang, called "Cover My Eyes:"

