Geoff Geis

Icon

In LA Record: My new column, and a review of Kid Infinity in 3-D


LA Record #100 is available now.

I’ve had some stuff published in LA Record recently.

If you are in the Los Angeles area, you should check out the hundredth print edition of the paper. It’s a 112-page extravaganza, and it features my new column, “Heart of Darkness,” which is all about the “D.I.Y.” underground in the city. This edition focuses on Moses Campbell and the group’s involvement with the Smell.

I also did a live review of Kid Infinity’s recent 3-D show at the Smell, which was published online today. Unfortunately, larecord.com is having some problems; a lot of people (including me) see a “Warning: Reported Attack Site” disclaimer when they go to the site. Anyway, I’ve published the review of the show here, in case the LA Record link doesn’t work for you:

On Saturday, Kid Infinity dropped the same meticulously calibrated songs that have become their standards over the last few months. The set started small and spacey with the synthesized arpeggio that builds into LA anthem “Salt and Candy,” then it took a trip through the sing-songy “Lone Wolves” and the I.E. cover “Good Ole American,” and then finally exploded into the frenzied climax of “P.Y.C.O.” and “The Big Why.” The duo sweated in the Smell’s oppressively hot back room, MC Ryan Pardeiro strutted and stomped around the stage aggressively, and DJ Nathan Huber stood behind the decks while he coolly executed the group’s party-propelling electro hip-hop with a Zen-like calm.

After the group’s February video premiere at the Downtown Independent and a subsequent run of high-energy shows at spaces like Pehrspace and the Nomad Gallery, Kid Infinity has become my favorite live act in town. So an excellent show was to be expected. The exceptional supporting cast that they chose, featuring the manifestly talented Kid Static and the frenetic and violent Juiceboxxx, was also pretty normal for these guys.

Yet Kid Infinity is nothing if not ambitious, and this show was nothing close to normal. On Saturday, there were cubes that popped out of the wall behind the group and danced. There were twisted Tetris lines that seemed to curl around Ryan as he bounced. Flames leaped out of the screen and into the audience, and during “Good Ole American” there was a giant image of I.E.’s Margot Padilla that materialized for a split second to puke something onto Nathan’s head. There were, in short, a shitload of crazy things that none of us had ever seen within the context of a musical performance. If I wasn’t at the Smell, where drugs are prohibited, I would have been convinced that I was on drugs.

The extravaganza was so otherworldly and so iconoclastic that it might as well have been a dream. Did this really happen? Did two stoned scenesters really co-opt the 3-D technology that was designed for Michael Jackson’s ill-fated London comeback shows in order to sell out the Smell and turn it into a full-on rave? Did we actually just go to our favorite neighborhood all-ages spot to witness the future of high-tech arena shows?

I guess we did. I’ve seen pictures, at least, that lead me to believe that the show indeed happened and that I was indeed there. I’m still flabbergasted, though. I don’t really know what to say that could do it justice.

If you weren’t at the Smell for Kid Infinity in 3-D, you fucked up royally.

LA Record.

Filed under: Human Interest, Reviews

5 Responses

  1. Abby Love says:

    Very fucking well said. Lol that’s exactly what it was like. I had a blast!

    • Geoff Geis says:

      The final paragraph originally read like this but was edited by LA Record:

      “Oh well. Description is futile. If you weren’t at the Smell for Kid Infinity in 3-D, you fucked up royally. No pictures or words will make up for the fact that you missed the best show of the year, and the first show of the rest of our lives.”

      I still stand by my statement, but I guess I understand why it was removed….

      • vivian says:

        it deff was a real, satisfactory “2010 moment”
        We don’t have rocket cars, but that eradicated my appetite for the “disneyland” version of the future our grandparents were expecting. I think we’ll be looking back on that night as a turning point in the history of live performance.

  2. [...] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Kid Static, Kid Static. Kid Static said: according to the L.A. Record :"If you weren’t at the Smell for Kid Infinity in 3-D, you f***ed up royally." http://tinyurl.com/25uyh2h [...]

  3. [...] “If I wasn’t at the Smell, where drugs are prohibited, I would have been convinced that I wa…—A review by Geoff [...]

Leave a Reply

Music

This is Soft Sailors! We're a new band from Los Angeles and we're having our first shows in May and June:

May 30 at Pehrspace (325 S. Glendale Blvd)

June 6 on KXLU's Demolisten (88.9 FM, streaming at kxlu.com, in person at Time Warp Music in Mar Vista)

June 13 at the Smell (247 S. Main St)






Also, here are some solo songs I've uploaded recently to Soundcloud. I'm playing solo June 7 at Tone's House in Granada Hills.


In 2011, I released my first solo album, Princess. You can listen to it and download it on Bandcamp:



From 2005 until 2011, I was in the band Pizza! This is our album We Come From the Swamp:



From 2008-2010, I was in the band Big Whup. Here's one of our songs that I sang, called "Cover My Eyes:"


Instagram

#tookieroast #echochamber Born in the USA #patriotism @verbsisthehomie killing it It's here Not actually sure what band this is It only took four years but we're finishing this exquisite corpse tape goddamnit! @ctrl_wlt_del Oh Valerie. Apparently my co workers are on strike or something Post life! Dream panther Winter You can litter, just a little bit Tonight's bill is so amazing that it sends tears of joy streaming down my face when I think about it. This is what it looks like when they're done Here's @danielmarkhamcollins eschewing all ladder logic to show his love for @koreatownoddity Portrait of a sweet dog pt. 2: a different sweet dog Portrait of a sweet dog, pt 1 TV nicks Happy birthday Eugene!
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

